The Powtown Post

Stories and photos from Powell River, BC.

1996-97 Powell River Regals Inducted into BC Hockey Hall of Fame!

Posted by on Jan 18, 2017

Share this!

Some hometown peeps, many of whom you probably know very well, are going to be in the BC Hockey Hall of Fame (BCHHF) as of July 2017.

Yup, you heard that right.

Just in time for the Regals’ 20th Anniversary of winning the Allan Cup, the 1996-97 Allan Cup Champion Powell River Regals have been chosen as 2017 BCHHF inductees.

Powell River Regals 1996-97 Allan Cup Champions

Top Row: Dennis Dyer, Trainer; Randy Caspaire, Bob Moon, Joe Barszczewski; Jason Mager; Trever Forsythe; Erin Ginnell; Rod Jamieson; Trent Kaese; Mike Hassman; Dave Gourlie; Shane Carlson, President. Middle Row: Dale Sunberg, Director; Darren Clark, Director; Jamie Barszczewski; Rich Henderson; Jeff Barszczewski; Jim Smith; Tim Tisdale; Ken Clement; Mark Bogoslowski; Don Gagne; Troy Butler; Steve Ashworth, Manager; Cliff Milne, Director; Dean Merrick, Vice-President. Bottom Row: Darren Parsons, Stickboy; Chad Vizzutti, Tod English; Dave Young, Asst. Coach; John Vanderkemp, Ron Viglasi, Coach; Mike Andrews; Vern Kinley; Scott Mastrodonato, Barry Rysc. Missing: Lisanne English, Secretary; Jeff Edmonds, Director; Bev Clark, Director; Hap Parker; Don Macgregor; Jim Hawkins, Honorary Director; Clint Thiesen, Asst. Trainer.

The Allan Cup was hosted at the Powell River Recreation Complex Arena April 8-12, 1997.

Powell River beat out the Warroad Lakers that year in a final score of 7-3.

The team was comprised of 17 Powell River born and raised players (24 team members were BC-born). Powell River has had many championship teams over the years but the 96-97 Allan Cup team ranks as one of the best.

Chosen for the 1st All-Star Team that year were:

  • Goalkeeper – Chad Vizzutti (Powell River)
  • Defence – David Ross (Warroad)
  • Defence – Scott Mastrodonato (Powell River)
  • Forward – Paul Andrea (Truro)
  • Forward – Rick McLaren (Powell River)
  • Forward – John Hanson (Powell River)

The BCHHF Induction will be held Friday, July 28th at the South Okanagan Event Centre in Penticton, BC.

Congratulations, boys!



Powtown Post

Powtown Post

Staff at Powtown Post
This article was posted by Powtown Post Staff.
Powtown Post

Related posts: